News for Janeites - December 2020

Happy New Year! We hope you have found your own ways to celebrate the new year in these strange times, whether that meant cosying up with family or having a Pride and Prejudice marathon. Here's everything you might have missed in December.

Jane turns 245!

Jane Austen was born on December 16 1775, so this month, she turned 245! She doesn't look a day over 30. How did you celebrate the occasion?

Bridgerton debuts on Netflix!

This raunchy new Shondaland series has finally dropped on Netflix, and has made quite a splash! For fans of Gossip Girl and Austen, this comes highly recommended. I'm yet to give it a go myself, but am very excited to get started!

Derry Girls' Nicola Coughlan discusses Bridgerton with Town & Country >>

Pride and Prejudice (2005) comes to UK Netflix

Pride And Prejudice Has Been Added To Netflix UK

Great news for fans of Joe Wright's 2005 Pride and Prejudice - as of January you will now be able to watch it on UK Netflix. Experience the infamous Matthew Macfadyen hand flex over and over and over (just me?).

 Ellen White is editor of the Jane Austen Centre blog. She would love to hear from you! Check out our Submission Guidelines and get in touch.